Prep to Year 6 Curriculum and Standards.

AusVELS logo

The Australian Curriculum (AusVELS)

The Australian Curriculum has been designed to equip our children with the skills, knowledge and understanding that will enable them to engage effectively with and prosper in a globalised world. Children gain personal and social skills, to equip them to make sense of the world in which they live and to empower them to contribute to building the social, intellectual and creative communities. The National Curriculum for Victorian Schools (AusVELS) was implemented from 2013. AusVELS is the Foundation (F) to Year 10 curriculum that provides a comprehensive set of achievement standards, that schools use to plan, assess and report on student learning. (F is the abbreviation for ‘Foundation’ which traditionally was Prep).   AusVELS retains the Victorian priorities and approaches to teaching and learning. It is based on the previous Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS) three interconnected areas of learning called strands (see table below).

General   Capabilities

Physical,   Personal and Social Learning

Children learn about themselves   and their place in society. They learn how to stay healthy and active. Children   develop skills in building social relationships and working with others. They   take responsibility for their learning, and learn about their rights and   responsibilities as global citizens.

Learning Areas

Discipline-based   Learning

Children learn the knowledge,   skills and behaviours in the Arts, English, Humanities- Geography and   Economics, Mathematics, Science and Languages (Italian).

General   Capabilities

Interdisciplinary   Learning

Children explore different ways   of thinking, solving problems and communicating. They learn to use a range of   technologies to plan, analyse, evaluate and present their work. Children   learn about creativity, design principles and thinking processes.
AusVELS has two core and interrelated strands which have 8 Learning Areas and 7 General Capabilities.      

Learning Areas

These refer to the discipline based learning areas which are assessed from F – 10. Learning areas include: English, Maths, Science, Health and Physical Education, Languages, Humanities and social sciences, The Arts and Technologies.  

General Capabilities

General Capabilities refer to Physical, Personal, Social and Interdisciplinary Learning that will be progressively introduced.  

Cross-curriculum priorities

The Australian Curriculum is relevant to the lives of our children and addresses contemporary issues and gives special attention to these three priorities:
    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
    Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
The cross curriculum priorities are embedded in the curriculum and will have a strong but varying presence depending on their relevance to each of the learning areas.

Current VELS domains and dimensions available here.

APS Program of Inquiry available here.
Coming up
    Victorian UV Index